Unfiltered Race Notes: Long Beach 2015

Ok, As we all know I am an almost religious DVR watcher, so how does my terrible fandom get repaid? By me realizing 10 minutes into the broadcast I was not recording! I recovered and was able to start about 10 minutes in. Stupid AT&T, but the only other option in my area is Comcast. I do not care to switch from satan to pure concentrated evil, thank you very much.

Where are you at Verizon? Do you even do TV? I know you have that kick-ass fiber internet. I’m just saying!

Anyway… Like I really even watch much of the prerace.

–Prerace–

Cool, I start with Hinch on the top of the podium!

SAM SCHMIDT DRIVING THE TRACK!!! Even cooler. We totally live in the future. Where’s my hoverboard and transporter?

Replay of the RHR smashy from 2014. Love how unforgiving Hunter-Reay is. Say what you will about him, but that’s oldschool attitude right there.

Damn. That pass into T3 at Indy last year is breathtaking every time I see it.

NBCSN Knows how to keep me engaged in the prerace: very few interviews and a good amount of super awesome montages and features. A+ so far.

I see what looks to be a crane in the fountain area. If it is, big thumbs up to the promoters.

Have we seen the full prerace ceremonies yet this year? I always think broadcasting them is classy.

Every Long Beach retrospective is smashy. Not a surprise?

CAPTAIN PICARD GIVES THE BEST COMMAND OF THE YEAR!!!!!!! (<- Yes, 8 ! were warranted)

Worth noting I will be paying special attention to the Chevy’s given the ridiculous decision to haphazardly destroy an aerokit that cost millions of dollars to develop. I feel for you Chevy.

–Race–

Still have to say, both of these aerokits look like they’re straight out of the future.

Watching Will Power work his way from the rear should be exciting.

GREEN

Worst. Formation. Ever.

Looks like we’re back to the bad old days of starts? But it is Long Beach, the place made famous for impossibly terrible formations heading to green.

Dixon looking strong. He could use some good points after a very Dixon-like start to the season.

Looked Like very heads up driving from Marco who came to a complete stop heading into the hairpin.

2

More Rahal upfront. What the hell is going on. Is he really actually having an OK start to the year?

HCN is walking away. I have a feeling we will be in for a stretched out race if the drivers can keep it off the walls.

4

lap 4 already. I forgot how quick they click of here.

Onboard with TK. The biggest dude in the field is manhandling this thing.

YELLOW

Debris. Dammit.

Replay of the start shows approximately 1.75 rows aligned for the start.

I understand the sensitivity to debris on the course, but in the event that it is a single piece that one dude can go out and grab real quick we need to create a ‘fast debris yellow’ to make these a bit more bearable.

Filippi and Power stall at pit entrance. What and odd situation. I’m so glad I did not pick Power in my fantasy league, BUT I DID PICK FILIPPI. Sigh.

Still under yellow. My patience is waning.

10

GREEN

Dixon looks driven to stay with HCN. Both are way out front.

But my the hairpin, Dixon has already fallen back into the clutches of Montoya.

11.

Yes, these cars look super fast on the streets.

12

It sounds like Coletti is on 2014 front wing watch! I hope he bangs his nose up so we can get some super cool retro throwback nose action.

14

Kimball into the pits for a front wing. No info on how it happened.

HCN still out front. I am OK with this. I would really like to see Helio win the championship this year to solidify his place in indycar history

18

We come back from break and have a weekend montage and immediately go thorugh the field. On the patented anotherindycarblog-how-early-does-through-the-field-happen-indicates-lameness-of-race scale, this is before the first quarter so this race is boring.

I didn’t make the scale, I only report the results.

20

HOLY CRAP AN ON SCREEN PASS!!! I know there is action up and down the field all day and it’s hard to get it all on tape and show it. Then we need more cameras. If it doesn’t happen on TV, it doesn’t really happen. I’m sure the comments section will be filled with ‘but the lap chart shows 547 passes for position from P10 down.

I don’t care. Show me the money.

But an excellent pass from Bourdais. Get it done, you deserve to win more races.

Sebastian Saavedra sitting in P12. If he finishes better than Karam’s season high of P18, I don’t want to hear anyone else complain about Saavedra funding the remainder of Karam’s season.

21

Pagenaud inside Montoya. Well done, and a pass for a podium position. Very excellent.

26

Shhh… racecars… Long Beach

Compared to St. Pete, these drivers are piloting masterful races. Or is this an indication that no one can get close enough to pass and St. Pete is what we should be aspiring to see.

28

Various drivers start the second pit sequence.

Without the rabbit ears, the Chevy front wings are super reminiscent of the IR09 road and street snow plows.

Also, the subtraction of the rabbit ears do not seem to be making a huge difference. They still shouldn’t be forced to removed them though. Those pieces were homologated fair and square.

31

Pags looks like he’s warming his tires in preparation for an all out attack on Helio, but it looks like Dixon has already gotten around them both on pit the pit rotation.

We get a shot at Connor Daly. Connor has no money and complains about not being hired, but he as the first guy DCR called when a free seat opened up. I think that says a lot CD, just keep pushing for funding. You have done nothing to prove to me you deserve a ride on merit alone with one of the big teams.

Coletti 10 laps down. What the hell happened?

35

We’re watching a blue, yellow and red Penske train. How about we see some of that passing that I’m bound to hear about lower in the field on Monday.

Hawks totally blows the fountain complex on cold tires. Saavedra and Kimball both miss him and none of the three touch the barriers at all. I knew you guys had it in you!

40

I have to say, I’m shocked and extremely impressed with how clean this race has been. Cooler heads have prevailed all day.

The field is slightly stretched, but the race hasn’t been bad at all.

42

Dracone literally gets freight trained. One more race… one more race… one more race…

43

More DF created less marbles. Excellent insight from Bell. Thank you, viewing enhanced. The lack of marbles is noticeable!

45

Miller stroking Daly’s ego. Shocking.

Daly also driving in someone else’s seat. Did you not run the Indy 500? Did you not get a seat insert poured? Why is that seat insert not attached to your hip everytime your at a race?

46

Onboard with Rahal. Not a huge fan of red cars, but that Steak ‘n Shake livery is HOT.

49

The cracking from the turbo/gearbox/who knows is super pronounced today. We may not have the raciest sounding engines on the block (I think they sound pretty racy though) but there are definitely other sounds to round out the IndyCar experience.

51

The cars are noticeably loose on the exit of T8. We’re seeing some awesome car control.

53

SATO in the pits. The ABC livery looks damn good on the Honda aerokit.

54

TV continues to talk up the helpfulness of Jakes in the Schmidt organization. I’m not totally sold on that yet though.

55

Everyone comes in. 25 lap dash to the finish. Dixon out front. I don’t see much changing. A late race caution would be cool, but this hasn’t been the worst day IndyCar has seen by far.

56

Montoya masterfully gets around Pagenaud. Seeing a move like that makes a race like this totally worth it.

57

Damn these cars look Hot. Has diecast been released yet? I need it ALL

58

Oh yea, Will Power. Poor guy. I was just think today about how much of a fan I was becoming of his. Tough day son.

61

Ugh, we switch to the ‘laps to go’ count. This isn’t freaking NASCAR, just count the laps for me.

63

Enthralled with racecars.

64

There are a few trains throughout the field, but I think most of the guys are scared to get too close. Who wants to be the cause of a full course caution?

68

‘run IndyCars at close to 200 down the front straight’ come on guys, they barely touch 170 here…

How did Coletti just turn the fastest lap of the race? Is he just an incredibly streaky rookie? He has the experience.

69

We see how terrible Dixon is here at Long Beach. I would love to see him come home with the win today.

72

Man, JPM and Pags have been fighting for the last 50 laps. I bet there will be 2 tired boys in the Penske camp after its all said and done.

Booth mentions how laid down Pags wing is. Cool to see the cars can finally take those differences. I the past, there was no option but to run the Dallara DW12 at full downforce because of how unwieldy it was.

73

Dracone is still the butt of chicane jokes.

74

Pags looks very impatient. Along with being exhausted, I bet there wont be very many friendly words for each other.

77

The battle for third is intense. Passes or not, these guys are leaving nothing on the track.

WHITE

79

How have we gone nearly caution free?!? WELL DONE BOYS!!

80

CHECKERS

DIXON!!! Excellent job Iceman. And any chance to interview Emma is a total bonus.

–Post Race–

I can hear the haters now. NO PASSING, THE CARS CAN’T GET CLOSE. ANYONE BUT PENSKE OR GANASSI. Shut it. That was clean and fast racing. I really enjoy seeing light on caution IndyCar races because we get to see who really has the pace. No surprise it’s Dixon on the top of the podium on a day like this.

Excellent race. I can totally do these early in the season. In one short week we shall reconvene for an in depth discussion regarding the racing in Barber Motorsport Park.

Thanks IndyCar, that was a blast.

Eric Hall

Programing Note: Due to personal obligations next Sunday, there is a good chance notes will appear on Monday.

Programing Note Two: Any interest in qualifying notes?

 

This entry was posted in Unfiltered Race Notes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Unfiltered Race Notes: Long Beach 2015

  1. dylanpt24 says:

    I’ll be the hater. While I get that’s a thing of personal preference, this race was pretty boring and predictable, and I can’t get excited about Penske and Ganassi domination. Long Beach is never the greatest race, but this was pretty bad. I’m tempted to say I enjoyed NOLA more, if just for Hinch winning, but in terms of professionalism at least they didn’t do anything embarrassing. But, every concern I had about aero kits (less passing/Penske/Ganassi domination) has come true, and that is disappointing. Basically it felt like an F1 race. Some people are going to love that, but I’d much rather see more action and less predictable results. Barber will be…mmmmm…..well, the Indy GP is the next race I’m excited for.

    • dylanpt24 says:

      Not to end on a 100% hater note, Newgarden, Bourdais, and Rahal have been reasonably competitive. Also congrats on 4 years of blogging!

    • Eric Hall says:

      I obviously did not think it was a barn burner of a race, but you really do have to give it to the drivers for running clean. I’m excited to see what these guys can do on a real road course. The comment was made that there are almost no marbles on track and that should help with passing as well. Street events are at a minimum this year, so Im definitely cool throwing a few early season events away to get the cars balanced and quick. I would like to see Dallara strengthen the suspension mounting points for 2016 to allow the old floor. That could allow for closer running as well. As always, thanks for reading, Dylan.

  2. One observation regarding the removal of previously approved rabbit ears. It is extremely bad for business having parts of the cars conking paying customers on the head hundreds of feet from the track in the beer line, especially when your insurer advises you that you have no future coverage of a repeat occurrence.

    • Eric Hall says:

      I 100% understand and agree with this and think it’s totally fine to have a minimum expectation of safety and strength of the pieces that hit the track. That comment was more an indictment of the ‘homologation’ process. I feel like someone should have maybe thought those things may get ripped off? I don’t know, it just feels super duper lame. Thank for reading and commenting as well!

  3. DZ-groundedeffects says:

    E-(you)-Rock these notes. Love em. I also was forced to ‘Divver’ it due to other commitments.

    My only real complaint from the coverage was never hearing why Colleti was 10 laps down. Even more perturbing was when Till kept calling him Dracone late in the race and his station in the field was called anywhere from two to 11 laps down within minutes of each other. T Bell and Tracy are doing a great job in my view.

    Was it just me or did the Hondas also lack one of the (previously 3) tiered wing elements also?

Leave a Reply

